Follow us

Brotherhood of Sterkenburgers

It was at Sterkenburg Castle in 1971 that Dutch Denturists first started their education and training for professional status. The Dutch Denturist pioneers started courses that were, initially, run over two years with attendance once a week. Very soon, Denturists were attending the courses for entire weekends. Sterkenburg Castle became their weekend school and home! Because of their comprehensive training, Denturists retained their right to educate themselves and pressure government for legal status. After official recognition, they decided to form a brotherhood of Denturists from those original pioneers, to honour those who were committed to Denturism and education.

The Sterkenburger philosophy is to help and support the education of Denturists and honour those who have shown an unyielding commitment to the Denturist profession worldwide.

Candidates for induction are nominated by the Brotherhood of Sterkenburgers through the Executive of the IFD, and the Abt, who is appointed for life. This prestigious position was held by Pieter Brouwer until his death in 2005. The International Federation of Denturists has agreed that no one person would ever be able to take Mr. Brouwer’s place. The administration of the Brotherhood of Sterkenburgers is now with the Executive of the IFD.

Brotherhood of Sterkenburgers Guidelines for Induction

The Sterkenburger has been bestowed on:

Mr. Stephen Boxhall, DD
Mr. Graham Key, DD
Mr. John Rogan, DD

Mr. M.L.L. Kortleven, TP
Mr. Matthias Luypaert, DD

Mr. Michel Gamache, DD
Prof. E.Michael Vakalis, DD
Mr. Tony Sarrapuchiello, DD
Mrs. Gerry Hansen
Mr. Robert Pereault, DD †
Mr. Mario Wojcicki, DD
Mr. Martin Damphousse, DD
Mr. Carlo Zanon, DD
Mr. Michael Vout, DD
Mrs. Esther Schwenning, DD
Mr. Daniel Robichaud, DD

Mr. Viggo Bramstoft, DD † 

Mr. Harri Aalto, Eht
Mr. Ilkka Amad Garaisi, DD

Mr. John Salamone-Reynaud, DD

Slovak Republic
Mr. Stefan Masik, DD
Mr. Stanislav Skoda

South Africa
Mr. Duffy Malherbe †

Mr. Urban Christen-Mendez, DD

The Netherlands
Mr. J.A.Bandel, TP
Mr. L.A. Bertens, TP
Mr. P. Brouwer, TP †
Mr. W.M. Busse, TP †
Mr. E.W. Engelbrecht, TP
Mr. W. te Gussinklo, TP
Mr. J. Fontijn, TP
Mr. J.H. Jansen,TP
Mr. R. Leeseman, TP
Mr. J.C. van Leeuwen, TP
Mr. J.Th.J.M. van der Linden, TP †
Mr. M. Mattiassen, TP
Mr. L.F. Mersman, TP
Mr. L.F. Mertens, TP
Mr. J. Perfors, TP
Mr. H. Pool, TP
Mr. J.P.A. Rossel, TP †
Mr. P.A. Sparenburg, TP
Mr. H. de Vries, TP
Mr. J. Willems, TP
Dr. H.H.P. Vergouwen
Dr. W. Sneeuwloper
Mr. M.A. van Oudheusden
R.J. David

United Kingdom
Mr. Chris Allen, TP
Mr. Ph. J. Tucker, TP
Mr Maxted. D. Jones †
Mr. Patrick Nicholls, MP
Mr. John Goodman, DD
Mr. Peter Meeds DD †

United States
Mr. William Buxton Sr., DD †
Mr. Frederick Gerrity, DD †
Mr. Austin Carbone, DD
Mr. Paul Levasseur, LD
Mr. Bruce Anderson, DD †
Mr. Tad Burzynski, DD